Fighting Vainly the Old Ennui

Is being bored really such a bad thing?

My entire life, boredom has always been the death of me. If I’m not learning something new or on some great adventure, I’m bored… and it drives me CRAZY!!!

I started this summer thinking it was going to be a long one, with all my friends traveling and “experiencing life”… leaving me behind. But through my boredom, I realized I don’t have to be somewhere extravagant to experience life. In a way, ennui (French term) is bringing out the best in me. I’m learning about myself, my health and my happiness.

As Buddha said, “Happiness does not depend on what you have or who you are, it solely relies on what you think.”

I’ve attempted to live off of these words recently, and I can say they are really rubbing off on me! Naturally, there are certain things that I think negatively about, but I catch myself optimistically (is that a word?) changing my mindset. I have even been eating healthier and working out, not because I’m forcing myself (although I still have those days) but because I see the beauty and importance in life, so why not supplement my body with the love (and nutrients) it needs. 😉

All I’m saying is, the result of being bored is me learning to create something out of nothing. To appreciate life in the present (I’ve been known to live in the future). To not be jealous of other people’s lives and simply live mine.

But here is the true question. If the definition of boredom is “an emotional state experienced when an individual is left without anything in particular to do, and is not interested in their surroundings,” am I truly considered bored if I’m interested in learning all of these things and applying them to my “surroundings?”

Who knows? … Just something to simmer on.

Leave a Reply

